ACF 2005

ACF 2005: An open framework for the management and exploitation of audio-visual contents

Titan is organizing these conferences as part of the Audiovisual Creative Fair (ACF) on 17 and 18 November.

An open framework for the management and exploitation of audio-visual contents

Holders of intellectual property rights (or users) on visual, audio or textual works have always cherished the hope of finally having an open architectural framework in which the various management functions of the archives and the operating system would be integrated and Where they would have control over the sustainability and the satisfaction of their own needs or evolving contingencies.

Today, thanks to significant advances in technology, technologies and recognized industry standards or standards, this hope can finally be met. Various partial responses emerged and their coherent integration appeared possible. Powerful standards, intelligently integrated, are able to solve the challenge while leaving a correct place to entrepreneurs and industrialists wanting to realize these systems. Such an open framework simultaneously protects the interests of users (open competition based on standardized interfaces, controlled costs and assurance of sustainability, without compromising quality) and the interests of suppliers (competition based on quality and innovation Of the proposed features).

TITAN has been instrumental in defining such a framework, particularly in projects such as DIVA, AIME, CIMWOS, FILMLIBRARY, and today AXIS, AIDAR and RIME (based on the OAIS and METS approaches).

The conferences on 17 November provided an opportunity to discuss all these themes from a theoretical and practical point of view, with the help of experts in the field of segmentation, indexing, Networked digital archives.

PAB actors compete and converge!

Digital TV in the French Community is already 7 years old! Canal + TVCF (since then BeTV) launched its digital cable program in March 1998. However, 2005 marked a major turning point with the launch of Belgacom TV and an offering of digital programs on ADSL.

The RTBF is not outdone since it has announced its decision to invest in the development of digital terrestrial television. This combination of events could stimulate competition and accelerate the development of digital television, while Belgium, with 5.2% digital penetration, is far behind the European average of more than 20%.

The arrival of Belgacom on the audiovisual field, however, is not without raising fears among established operators, given its financial strength, typical of the world of telecommunications.

For its part, the European Union is pushing its member states to abandon analogue broadcasting in the medium term: the European Commission thus proposes to set early 2012 as the deadline for the abandonment of analog in all Member States. Such a decision is not taken lightly and prepares well in advance: the public authorities thus have an important role to play, in particular in the coordination of the processes of transition to the digital whole.

Finally, with the development of digital all networks, the question of convergence will be asked in a practical way: what will tomorrow be the modes of consumption of digital? Will we have hybrid machines that will be both a TV and a computer?

The conference on 18 November was an opportunity to address all these themes with the help of some of the actors involved in the field of digital television.

Organisation

In November 2005, Titan, with the support of the ACF and the Department of Audiovisual of the French Community of Belgium has organized a two-day conference.

ACF 2005

ACF 2005: An open framework for the management and exploitation of audio-visual contents

Titan organise ces conférences dans le cadre de l’ACF (Audiovisual Creative Fair) les 17 et 18 novembre.

L'intégration des essences et des métadonnées pour le plaisir des sens : Un cadre ouvert pour la gestion et l'exploitation de contenus audio-visuels

Les détenteurs de droits intellectuels (ou les utilisateurs) sur des oeuvres visuelles, audio ou textuelles ont toujours nourri l'espoir de disposer enfin d'un cadre architectural ouvert où les diverses fonctions de gestion des archives et du système d'exploitation seraient intégrables et où ils auraient le contrôle sur la pérennité et sur la satisfaction des besoins propres ou des contingences évolutives.

Aujourd'hui, grâce a des avancées significatives des techniques, des technologies et des normes ou standards industriels reconnus, cet espoir peut enfin être satisfait. Diverses réponses partielles sont apparues et leur intégration cohérente est apparue possible. Des normes puissantes, intégrées de manière intelligente, sont aptes à résoudre le challenge tout en laissant une place correcte aux entrepreneurs et industriels voulant réaliser ces systèmes. Un tel cadre ouvert protège simultanément les intérêts des utilisateurs (concurrence ouverte basée sur des interfaces normalisés; coûts contrôlés et assurance d'une pérennité, sans compromis sur la qualité) ainsi que les intérêts des fournisseurs (concurrence basée sur la qualité et l'innovation des fonctionnalités proposées).

L'asbl TITAN a largement contribué à définir un tel cadre, en particulier au sein de projets comme DIVA, AIME, CIMWOS, FILMLIBRARY, et aujourd'hui AXIS, AIDAR et RIME (basés sur les approches OAIS et METS).

Les conférences de ce 17 novembre ont été une occasion d'aborder tous ces thèmes, du point de vue théorique et pratique, avec l'aide d'experts dans le domaine de la segmentation, de l'indexation, de l'édition d'archives numériques exploitées en réseau.

Les acteurs du PAB dansent la concurrence et la convergence ! 

La télévision numérique en Communauté française a déjà 7 ans ! Canal + TVCF (depuis lors BeTV) a lancé son offre de programmes numériques sur le câble en mars 1998. L'année 2005 marque toutefois un grand tournant avec le lancement de Belgacom TV et d'une offre de programmes numériques sur ADSL.

La RTBF n'est pas en reste puisqu'elle a fait part de sa décision d'investir dans le développement de la télévision numérique terrestre. Cette conjonction d'événements pourrait être de nature à stimuler la concurrence et à accélérer le développement de la télévision numérique alors que la Belgique, avec 5,2 % de pénétration du numérique, est loin derrière la moyenne européenne qui dépasse les 20%.

L'arrivée de Belgacom sur le terrain de l'audiovisuel n'est toutefois pas sans susciter des craintes parmi les opérateurs établis, compte tenu de sa puissance financière, typique du monde des télécommunications.

De son côté, l'Union européenne pousse ses États membres à abandonner la diffusion analogique à moyen terme: la Commission Européenne propose ainsi de fixer le début 2012 comme date limite de l'abandon de l'analogique dans tous les États membres. Une telle décision ne se prend pas à la légère et se prépare longtemps à l'avance: les pouvoirs publics ont ainsi un rôle important à jouer, notamment dans la coordination des processus de transition vers le tout numérique.

Enfin, avec le développement du numérique tous réseaux confondus, la question de la convergence va être posée de manière pratique: quels seront demain les modes de consommation du numérique ? Aurons-nous des machines hybrides qui feront à la fois office de téléviseur et d'ordinateur ?

La conférence de ce 18 novembre a été l'occasion d'aborder tous ces thèmes avec l'aide de quelques uns des acteurs qui comptent dans le domaine de la télévision numérique.

Organisation

En novembre 2005, l'asbl Titan, avec le soutient de l'ACF et du Ministère de l'Audiovisuel de la Communauté française de Belgique, a organisé deux journées de conférence.