European Media Wrapper Round Table II

EMWRT II (Paris 2007)

While the European public authorities are planning establishing Audio-Visual Conservation Centres and focus their IST-7 call on promoting projects on the preservation and valorisation of the audio-visual assets, the board of TITAN has decided to organise a second “Wrapper Round Table”in Paris on October 25 at TV5 International premises.

Realising the exchanges requires the physical or logical wrapping of the essences, the metadata, the structures and the controls as to ensure a complete data model empowering the capability of various exploitations paths and the persistent archiving. The advantages, possibilities and characteristics of the approach will be presented through several projects. Some of them will introduce concrete ways of realising the SIP, DIP, AIP and P-DIP packages of the model defined by the Open Archival Information System standard.

On the programme: 

  • The analysis of the conclusions of the first European Media Wrapper Round Table, asking to the participants their comments and reactions (see the annexed report).
  • The key aspects of the problematic.
  • The presentation of key projects involved with the modelling and exchange. In particular, TITAN is promoting its AXIS dynamics including the concept of “Autonomous Asset Entities” through the MEMORIES project leaded by one of its members MEMNON. The project is co-sponsored by the European Union (IST-6) : www.memories-project.eu
Organisation

Titan with the contribution of TV5, UTC Compiègne, the MEMORIES project (Memnon) and MediaNet Vlaanderen

European Media Wrapper Round Table II

EMWRT II (Paris 2007)

Alors que les autorités publiques européennes envisagent de créer des centres de conservation audiovisuels et concentrent leur appel IST-7 sur la promotion de projets axés sur la préservation et la valorisation des actifs audiovisuels, le conseil d’administration de TITAN a décidé d’organiser une deuxième «table ronde sur les conteneurs sémantiques»à Paris le 25 octobre dans les locaux de TV5 International.

Réaliser les échanges nécessite l'encapsulation physique ou logique des essences, des métadonnées, des structures et des contrôles de manière à garantir un modèle de données complet offrant la capacité d’exploitations diverses et un archivage persistant. Les avantages, les possibilités et les caractéristiques de l’approche seront présentés à travers plusieurs projets. Certains d'entre eux présenteront des moyens concrets de réaliser les packages SIP, DIP, AIP et P-DIP du modèle défini par la norme OAIS (Open Archival Information System) de l’ISO.

Au programme : 

  • une analyse des conclusions de la première table ronde européenne Media Wrapper, demandant aux participants leurs commentaires et leurs réactions (voir rapport).
  • les aspects clés de la problématique.
  • la présentation des projets clés impliqués dans la modélisation et l’échange. En particulier, TITAN fait la promotion de sa dynamique AXIS, y compris du concept d ’« entités autonomes d’immobilisations », par le biais du projet MEMORIES mené par l’un de ses membres, MEMNON. Le projet est coparrainé par l'Union européenne (IST-6) : www.memories-project.eu.
Organisation

Titan with the contribution of TV5, UTC Compiègne, the MEMORIES project (Memnon) and MediaNet Vlaanderen